We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Research and Innovation Strategy and Funding Sub-Group

The Research and Innovation Strategy and Funding Sub-Group reports to the Executive Committee. The group includes a nominated representative from each of the nine existing organisations in addition to RCUK and the UK Research and Innovation strategy team. The Sub-Group’s role is to explore questions on strategy and funding for 2018-19 onwards, providing advice to the Chief Executive and the UK Research and Innovation Shadow Executive Committee.


  • Chair: Rebecca Endean - Director of Strategy, UK Research and Innovation
  • Jeremy Neathey - Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
  • Mike Biddle - Innovate UK
  • Amanda Collis - Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)
  • Sharon Cosgrove - Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)
  • Alice Frost - Research England
  • Edward Harcourt - Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC)
  • Declan Mulkeen - Medical Research Council (MRC)
  • Tom Rodden - Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)
  • Tim Wheeler - Natural Environment Research Council (NERC)