We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Board Members

Board members are:

  • Sir John Kingman - Chair, UKRI; Legal and General Group Chair and former Second Permanent Secretary to HM Treasury
  • Dame Ottoline Leyser – Chief Executive, UKRI
  • Siobhan Peters – Chief Finance Officer, UKRI
  • Sir Peter Bazalgette - Executive Chair of ITV
  • Professor Julia Black - Pro Director for Research at the London School of Economics
  • Professor Sir Leszek Borysiewicz - Chair of Cancer Research UK and former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge
  • Lord Browne - Executive Chairman of L1 Energy, and former Chief Executive of BP plc
  • Fiona Driscoll - Chair, UKRI Audit Committee and Chair of Nuffield Health Audit Committee
  • Sir Harpal Kumar - Head of Innovation, EMEA, Johnson & Johnson
  • Professor Max Lu - President and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Surrey
  • Vivienne Parry - Head of Engagement for Genomics England
  • Mustafa Suleyman - co-founder and Head of Applied AI at DeepMind
  • Lord Willetts - Executive Chair of the Resolution Foundation and former Minister for Universities and Science
  • Professor Dame Sally Davies – Master of Trinity College Cambridge and former Chief Medical Officer
    (As a serving civil servant at the time, Dame Sally was not formally appointed a member of the Board but joins meetings in a personal capacity as an observer.)
  • Professor Sir Ian Diamond - Chief Executive of the UK Statistics Authority
    (As National Statistician, Sir Ian is not a member of the UKRI Board, but joins meetings in a personal capacity as an observer)