Population and Systems Medicine Board

Board membership from 1 April 2022

  • Professor Brian Walker (Chair), Pro Vice Chancellor, Research Strategy & Resources and Chair of Medicine, Newcastle University
  • Dr Bevan Huang (Deputy Chair), Janssen Research & Development
  • Professor Robert Semple, University of Edinburgh/BHF Centre for Cardiovascular Sciences
  • Professor Margaret MacLean, University of Strathclyde
  • Professor Linda Bauld, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Menna Clatworthy, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Dennis McGonagle, University of Leeds
  • Professor Sinead Brophy, Swansea University
  • Professor Tom Gaunt, University of Bristol
  • Professor William Dixon, The University of Manchester
  • Professor Sandosh Padmanabhan, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Edwin Chilvers, Imperial College London
  • Professor Jonathan Grigg, Queen Mary University of London
  • Professor Barbara Casadei, University of Oxford
  • Professor Siobhan Quenby, University of Warwick
  • Professor Julie Lovegrove, University of Reading
  • Professor Arthur Kaser, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Stephen Allen, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Rosalind John, Cardiff University
  • Professor Louise Wain, University of Leicester
  • Professor Waljit Dhillo, Imperial College London
  • Professor Derek Mann, Newcastle University
  • Professor Philip Atherton, University of Nottingham

See the Population and Systems Medicine Board conflicts of interest register.

Find out more about the units and centres funded by this board.


For general pre-award policy and eligibility enquiries, go to the Research Funding Policy and Delivery team: rfpd@mrc.ukri.org

Board operation and peer review enquiries: psmb@mrc.ukri.org

For enquiries about scientific remit, see our science and contacts page for the most appropriate programme manager.

Dr Jessica Boname, Head of Programme, including operational oversight of the Population Systems Medicine Board: jessica.boname@mrc.ukri.org

Dr Joanna Robinson, Head of Theme, including strategic lead for Population and Systems Medicine: joanna.robinson@mrc.ukri.org

Last updated: 22 September 2022

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.