We are creating a unified UKRI website that brings together the existing research council, Innovate UK and Research England websites.
If you would like to be involved in its development let us know.

Global Challenge Research Fund: Strategic Advisory Group

The primary purpose of the Strategic Advisory Group is to advise on the strategic development and delivery of the Global Challenge Research Fund (GCRF), and specifically:

  • engagement with research and stakeholder communities and the facilitation of new ideas and opportunities
  • the development of a strategic research agenda and prioritisation of challenge topics
  • the effectiveness of UKRI strategies and mechanisms, including mechanisms to build capability where it is needed to address existing deficits
  • integration of ODA and non-ODA challenge research, where this is sensible to do so
  • the allocation of research funding, consistent with the Haldane principle.

Responsibilities of group members:

  • to act within the seven Principles of Public Life (Nolan principles), in particular to provide independent, informed advice, avoiding actual or perceived conflicts of interest by taking a collegiate approach to policy and strategy development
  • to act as “generous generalists”
  • to validate and challenge constructively UKRI’s perspectives drawing on the available evidence and their own experiences
  • to take individual and collective ownership of the advice they provide, whilst recognising the separation of that advice from responsibility for the decisions made, which rests with the research councils or other delivery partners
  • to use their own networks to gather intelligence that can be brought to bear in policy development and to disseminate UKRI policies and strategies.

The membership of the group should:

  • reflect the breadth of disciplines
  • be diverse across career stages and lifecourse
  • drawn from academia, government, business and other stakeholders
  • include an international/global perspective.

The current members are:

  • Dame Judith Macgregor, Chair
  • Ms Jess Camburn, Elrha
  • Mr Markus Geisser, International Committee of the Red Cross
  • Professor Howard Griffiths, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Nyovani Madise, African Institute for Development Policy
  • Professor Yacob Mulugetta, University College London
  • Professor Claire Taylor, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Apala Majumdar, University of Strathclyde
  • Professor Michael Templeton, Imperial College London
  • Mr Hadyn Parry, MoA Technology
  • Professor Francisca Mutapi, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Kevin Marsh, University of Oxford
  • Professor Nitya Rao, University of East Anglia
  • Mr Benjamin Ramalingam
  • Professor João Porto de Albuquerque, University of Warwick