## UKRI Agri-food Network Plus

## Build a network to research sustainable agri-food for net zero – UKRI

## Intent to Submit Stage - 06 Jan 2022

The following Intents to Submit have been received:

Title of Proposal	Principal Investigator	Co-Investigators
Plausible Futures and Practical Pathways for a Net Zero Food System	Prof. Tim Benton, University of Leeds	Dr Pete Falloon, UK Met Office Prof. Lynn Frewer, University of Newcastle Dr John Ingram, University of Oxford Prof. Michael Lee, Harper Adams University Prof. Tom MacMillan, Royal Agricultural University Dr Mike Rivington, James Hutton Institute Prof. Nigel Scollan, Queen's University Belfast Prof. Carol Wagstaff, University of Reading Prof. Simon Willcock, Rothamsted Research/University of Bangor Prof. Michael Winter, University of Exeter
UKRI Net Zero Food Hub	Prof Sonal Choudhary, University of York	Dr Laura Cardenas, Rothamsted Research Dr Rebecca Ford, University of Strathclyde Prof Jane Hill, University of York Prof Ilias Kyriazakis, Queen's University Belfast Prof Dominic Moran, University of Edinburgh Prof Richard Napier, University of Warwick Prof Toby Peters, University of Birmingham Prof Andrew Rowley, Swansea University
Delivering Agrifood net Zero Emissions (DAZE) Network	Tim Daniell – University of Sheffield	Dawn Arnold - Harper Adams University Adrian Collins - Rothamsted Research Jess Davies - Lancaster University Damian Maye - University of Gloucestershire Rachel Newman - University of Stirling Christian Reynolds - City, University of London Ute Skiba - UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
UKRI Agri-food Network Plus: From leaves to livestock - ensuring sustainability and achieving net zero across the UK food system	Professor Christopher Reynolds, University of Reading	Prof Mike Coffey, SRUC Prof Iain Donnison, Aberystwyth University Prof Jeremy Frey, University of Southampton Prof Sharon Huws, Queen's University Belfast

		Prof Tom Misselbrook, Rothamsted Research (North Wyke) Prof Jim Monaghan, Harper Adams University Dr Gregor Singer, LSE (Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment)
Sustainable Agrifood4NetZero Network	Angelina Sanderson Bellamy University of the West of England, Bristol and Sarah Bridle University of York	Parag Acharya, University of Greenwich Heiko Balzter, Leicester University David Main, Royal Agricultural University Jacqueline McGlade, University College London Simon Pearson, University of Lincoln Richard Pywell, Centre for Ecology and Hydrology Pete Smith, University of Aberdeen Christine Watson, Scotland Rural College
Farming Food for Zero	Elizabeth Stockdale, NIAB	Shima Barakat, University of Cambridge Emily Burton, Nottingham Trent University Jude Capper, Harper Adams University Robert Costanza, UCL Nick Cowan, UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology Emily Shuckburgh, University of Cambridge Jo Smith, University of Aberdeen Lydia Smith, NIAB
AASP Network+ (Another Agri-Science is Possible)	Professor Neil Ward, University of East Anglia	Professor James Bullock, UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology Professor Dale Sanders, John Innes Centre

We are publishing these Intent to Submit details to support the creation of the best application teams and proposals for this call. In particular some application teams may decide to join together at this stage. Also, further Co-Investigators may join proposals at this stage – though there is a maximum of 10 Co-Investigators on a proposal.

The deadline for Full proposals is **17 February 2022 at 16:00**.

We would like to take the opportunity to emphasise a few points from the call:

- Only one Network Plus will be funded
- An institution can only lead on one application
- An individual can only be an investigator on one application.

If you have any queries or if a Principal Investigator decides that they will not be submitting a full proposal, for whatever reason, please contact UKRI - <u>saf@bbsrc.ukri.org</u>; <u>energy@epsrc.ukri.org</u>.