

BBSRC Research Committee Membership 2024 RM3

Committee A Committee Membership

Panel meeting date: Wednesday 19th March 2025

Chair

Richard Barrett-Jolley – University of Liverpool

Deputy Chairs

Emma Hodson-Tole – Manchester Metropolitan University Tom Matheson – University of Leicester

Members

Alan Walker – University of Aberdeen

Andrew Cooke – University of Lincoln

Andrew Lin – University of Sheffield

Aparna Ratheesh – University of Warwick

Benedikt Berninger – King's College London

Campbell Gourlay – University of Kent

Claudia Wascher – Anglia Ruskin University

David Wilcockson - Aberystwyth University

Dianne Ford – Northumbria University

Efstathios Giotis – University of Essex

Eisuke Koya – University of Sussex

Frederick Warren – Quadram Institute

Gisela Helfer - University of Bradford

Julie Gibbs – The University of Manchester

Julie Turner – Loughborough University

Lucy Asher – Newcastle University

Mandy Nevel – Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB)

Maria Montoya – Centro de Investigaciones Biológicas (CIB-CSIC)

Maria O'Connell - University of East Anglia

Matthew Loose – University of Nottingham

Muhammad Munir – Lancaster University

Natalie Hempel de Ibarra – University of Exeter

Owen Dylan – University of Birmingham

Petros Ligoxygakis – University of Oxford

Robert Huckstepp – University of Warwick

Ronan McCarthy - Brunel University of London

Runxuan Zhang – The James Hutton Institute

Sarah McKim - University of Dundee

Shahriar Behboudi – University of Bristol

Sokratis Stergiadis - University of Reading

Stephen Tait – University of Glasgow



Thomas Wilkinson – Swansea University Virginia Marugan-Hernandez – Royal Veterinary College William Duddy – Ulster University Zoe Kourtzi – University of Cambridge



Committee B Committee Membership

Panel meeting date: Thursday 20th March 2025

Chair

Miriam Gifford – University of Warwick

Deputy Chairs

Eshwar Mahenthiralingam – Cardiff University Anthony Hall – Earlham Institute Katie Field – University of Sheffield

Members

Alessia Buscaino – University of Kent

Cendric Berger - Cardiff University

Charles Veys – FOTENIX

Christopher Bayliss – University of Leicester

Daniel Kindred – Anglo-American

Danna Gifford – University of Manchester

David Lea-Smith - University of East Anglia

Eirini Kaiserli - University of Glasgow

Erik Murchie – University of Nottingham

Falk Hildebrand - Quadram Institute/Earlham Institute

Ian Henderson – University of Cambridge

James Locke – University of Cambridge/Sainsbury Laboratory

Jessica Blair – University of Birmingham

Laura Gardiner – IBM Research

Marie Lewis - University of Reading

Mark Bruce - Oxford Nanopore Technologies

Mark Chapman – University of Southampton

Maurice Bosch – Aberystwyth University

Mauro Rinaldi - University of Hull

Neil Mabbott - University of Edinburgh/Roslin Institute

Paul Kersey – Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew

Peter Etchells – Durham University

Roy Neilson - James Hutton Institute

Sharon Kendall – Royal Veterinary College

Sharon Zytynska – University of Liverpool

Sofia Kourmpetli – Cranfield University

Thorunn Helgason – University of Edinburgh

Tim Daniell - University of Sheffield

Victoria Savage – Infex Therapeutics Ltd

Yoselin Benitez-Alfonso – University of Leeds



Committee C Committee Membership

Panel meeting date: Tuesday 18th March 2025

Chair

Helen Parkinson – European Molecular Biology European Bioinformatics Institute

Deputy Chairs

Tracey Chapman – University of East Anglia James McInerney – University of Liverpool

Members

Adriana Margariti – Queen's University Belfast

Alastair Kerr – Genome England

Alistair McGregor – Durham University

Amanda Bretman – University of Leeds

Asme Boussahel - University of Bristol

Cathy Slack - University of Warwick

Chitra Seewooruthun – University of Leicester

Dimitrios Zevgolis – University College Dublin

David Ferrier – University of St Andrews

Franziska Denk – King's College London

Guifen Chen – Queen Mary, University of London

Jamie Twycross – University of Nottingham

Jessica Teeling – University of Southampton

Julia Cordero - University of Glasgow

Kathryn Hentges – The University of Manchester

Konstantinos Thalassinos – University College London

Kyra Campbell – University of Sheffield

Lisa Crossman – University of East Anglia

Lucy Weinert – University of Cambridge

Mark Evans – University of Edinburgh

Mark Wass - University of Kent

Micheal Bailey – University of Bristol

Patrick Eyers – University of Liverpool

Paul Badenhorst – University of Birmingham

Paul Hoskisson – University of Strathclyde

Petra Oyston – Defence Science and Technology Laboratory

Renata Jurkowaska – Cardiff University

Ritwick Sawarkar – University of Cambridge

Robert Hindges – King's College London

Robert Hynds – University College London

Sadra Sadeh – Imperial College London

Steffan Scholpp – University of Exeter

Stephanie Duguez – Ulster University

Thamarai Schneiders – University of Edinburgh

Tony Southall – Imperial College London

William Grey – University of York



Yolanda Markaki – University of Leicester



Committee D Committee Membership

Panel meeting date: Thursday 20th March 2025

Chair

Martin Cann – Durham University

Deputy Chairs

Andrew Pitt – University of Manchester Carolyn Moores – Birkbeck College

Members

Aga Gambus – University of Birmingham

Andrea Townsend-Nicholson – University College London

Andrew Gates - University of East Anglia

Christoph Wuelfing – University of Bristol

Clair Baldock - The University of Manchester

Claudio Angione – Teeside University

Colin Crump – University of Cambridge

Corinne Spickett – Aston University

Cyril Dominguez – University of Leicester

Dessi Malinova – Queen's University Belfast

Elena Rainero – University of Sheffield

Eugene Makeyev – King's College London

Ifat Shah – Aberystwyth University

James Brewer – University of Glasgow

Jennifer Hay – The Francis Crick Institute

Jody Mason – University of Bath

Juan Antonio Vizcaino - EMBL - European Bioinformatics Institute

Kang Lan Tee - University of Sheffield

Katherine Duncan – Newcastle University

Mala Shah – University College London

Meng Zhang – Northumbria University

Neil Kad – University of Kent

Paolo Actis – University of Leeds

Patrick Lewis – Royal Veterinary College

Paul Fogg – University of York

Phillip Stansfeld – University of Warwick

Robert Pal – Durham University

Sian Henson – Queen Mary, University of London

Sohail Ali – Independent

Sonia Rocha – University of Liverpool

Sonja Vermeren – University of Edinburgh

Vikash Kumar Yadav – University of Derby

Yan Liu - Imperial College London

Yusuke Nishimura – Liverpool John Moores University

Ellie Leeder



22nd May 2025