Neurosciences and Mental Health Board

Board membership from 1 April 2022

  • Professor Paul Matthews (Chair), Division of Brain Sciences, Imperial College London
  • Professor Jeremy Hall (Deputy Chair), Cardiff University
  • Professor Elizabeth Fisher, University College London
  • Professor Irene Miguel-Aliaga, Imperial College London
  • Professor Oscar Marin, King’s College London
  • Professor Andrew Jackson, Newcastle University
  • Professor Edwin Robertson, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Peter Magill, University of Oxford
  • Professor Diego Gomez Nicola, University of Southampton
  • Professor Daniel Smith, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Anna Williams, University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Rickie Patani, The Francis Crick Institute and UCL
  • Professor Tara Spires-Jones, The University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Jonathan Mill, University of Exeter
  • Professor Ann John, Swansea University
  • Dr William Schafer, Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Dr Duncan Astle, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit, Cambridge University
  • Professor Cornelia van Duijn, University of Oxford
  • Professor Rachel Upthegrove, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Jeffrey Dalley, Cambridge University
  • Professor Barbara Canlon, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm
  • Professor Mark Humphries, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Anthony Pickering, University of Bristol
  • Dr Nadeem Sarwar, Eisai Limited

See the Neurosciences and Mental Health Board conflicts of interest register.

Find out more about the units and centres funded by this board.


For general pre-award policy and eligibility enquiries, go to the Research Funding Policy and Delivery team:

For board operation and peer review enquiries, contact:

For enquiries about scientific remit, see our science and contacts page.

Last updated: 15 November 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.