UKRI community recognised in 2022 New Year Honours

Stock image of new years fireworks

UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) congratulates all those who were recognised in the 2022 New Year Honours.

Recipients were recognised for their many and varied contributions, including those funded by or associated with UKRI.

Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour

  • Sir Paul Nurse, for services to science and medicine in the UK and abroad.

Knight and Dame Commanders of the Order of the British Empire

  • Dr Vivienne Cox, GSK and Rosalind Franklin Institute, for services to sustainability, and to diversity and inclusion in business
  • Professor Anthony Finkelstein, lately Chief Scientific Adviser, National Security and UKRI Board member, for public service
  • Professor Robin Grimes, lately Chief Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Defence Nuclear, for services to UK resilience and international science relationships.

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

  • Professor Myles Allen, University of Oxford, for services to climate change attribution and prediction and net zero
  • Professor Phillip Blythe, Department for Transport, for services to science and engineering in transport and government
  • Professor James Diggle, University of Cambridge, for services to classical scholarship
  • Dr John Fingleton, Fingleton and Innovate UK Council, for services to the economy and to innovation
  • Professor Wendy Barclay, Imperial College, for services to virology
  • Dr Steven Gamblin, The Francis Crick Institute, for services to scientific research
  • Professor Martin Knapp, London School of Economics, for services to social care research
  • Professor Nicholas Lemoine, National Institute for Health Research and Medical Research Foundation, for services to clinical research particularly during COVID-19
  • Professor Anne Magurran, University of St Andrews, for services to biodiversity
  • Professor Tavi Murray, Swansea University, for services to glaciology and climate change research
  • Dr John Stageman, LifeArc, for services to the translation of medical research
  • Professor Irene Tracey, University of Oxford and MRC Council, for services to medical research.

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

  • Yvonne Baker, STEM learning, for services to STEM education
  • Dr Austin Ball, CERN, for services to physics and engineering
  • Professor Veronica Bowman, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory, for services to defence and the COVID-19 response
  • Dr Ian Campbell, lately Interim Executive Chair, Innovate UK, for services to innovation
  • Dr Nira Chamberlain, Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, for services to mathematical sciences
  • Obumneke Ekeke, for services to computing and artificial intelligence education, and to championing diversity and inclusion in the technology sector
  • Professor Alisa Hall, University of St Andrews, for services to environmental protection and epidemiology
  • Dr Clive Hickman, The Manufacturing Technology Centre Ltd, for services to engineering manufacturing and technology development
  • Dr Roger Highfield, Science Museum and Medical Research Council (MRC), for services to public engagement with science
  • Dr Nigel Lockyer, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, for services to science and UK-US relations
  • Professor Robert Mokaya, University of Nottingham, for services to the chemical services
  • Professor Eleanor Shaw, University of Strathclyde, for services to entrepreneurship and to education
  • Professor Zoe Shipton, University of Strathclyde, for services to geoscience and climate change mitigation
  • Susan Smith, lately Director Science and Technology Facilities Council Accelerator Science and Technology Centre, for services to science and technology.

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

  • Professor Laura Bear, London School of Economics, for services to anthropology during COVID-19
  • Professor Lucy Carpenter, University of York, for services to atmospheric chemistry
  • Professor Jackie McCoy, Ulster University, for services to higher education, to business and to the arts
  • Dr Sheila Pearson, Royal Astronomical Society, for services to astronomy and to diversity in physics
  • Dr Abdul Sesay, MRC Unit, The Gambia, for services to charity and medical research
  • Professor Lorraine Whitmarsh, University of Bath, for services to social research in climate change, energy and transport.

Top image:  Credit: LUMIKK555, Getty Images

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.