Professor Jan-Theodoor Janssen

STFC Council member

Professor Jan-Theodoor (JT) Janssen is a member of the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) Council.

JT is the Chief Scientist and International Director at the National Physical Laboratory (NPL), which he joined in 1998. Prior to this, he was a research fellow at the University of Bristol and did his PhD and masters at the High Field Magnetic Laboratory at the University of Nijmegen in the Netherlands.

At NPL, JT is responsible for external scientific engagements with academia and other government organisations. Internally, he is responsible for the quality and benchmarking of the research outputs of the laboratory and its knowledge management. He is the executive sponsor for NPL’s Juno committee, which aims to address gender equality in physics and encourage better practice for all staff.

JT is a Scientific Co-Director of the Quantum Metrology Institute (QMI). The institute covers all of NPL’s leading-edge quantum science and metrology research. It provides the expertise and facilities needed for academia and industry to test, validate and ultimately commercialise new quantum research and technologies.

At NPL, his research has involved a wide range of topics in solid-state physics applied to electrical metrology. For this research he received the Institute of Physics James Joule Award 2023.

JT is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Engineering and Technology and the Institute of Physics. At the 2022 General Conference for Weights and Measures JT was elected to the International Committee for Weights and Measures, and appointed the President of the Consultative Committee for Ionising Radiation.

Last updated: 2 April 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.