Fellowship mentoring programme

Mentoring forms an important part of the support provided by BBSRC to our fellows. Our mentoring programme includes members of Committee E and those who previously held BBSRC fellowships.

Mentoring is a key mechanism through which research organisations can support the fellows they host. In addition to the mentoring available through their host institutions, our fellows are enrolled on a BBSRC mentoring programme that matches them to an additional mentor who is external to their host organisation. Our mentoring programme is guided by our recent review of academic mentoring best practice.

Discovery Fellows (formerly called BBSRC Future Leader Fellows (2014 to 2017)) can select from a range of mentors who are previous holders of BBSRC fellowships or members of BBSRC Research Committee E.

We are extremely grateful for the time these mentors commit to the fellowship mentoring programme.

Former fellows in mentor pool

Mentors include:

  • Sam Amsbury, The University of Sheffield
  • Andrew Baldwin, University of Oxford
  • Liz Ballou, University of Birmingham
  • Chris Bass, University of Exeter
  • Philippa Borrill, University of Birmingham
  • Charlotte Brassey, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Chris Chambers, Cardiff University
  • Megan Davey, The Roslin Institute, The University of Edinburgh
  • Peter Eastmond, Rothamsted Research
  • Joanne Edgar, University of Bristol
  • Josh Firth, University of Oxford
  • Samuel Fountain, University of East Anglia
  • Catherine Jopling, University of Nottingham
  • Robert Knight, King’s College London
  • John Labbadia, University College London
  • Gareth Lavery, Nottingham Trent University
  • Ian Lidbury, The University of Sheffield
  • David Lyons, The University of Edinburgh
  • Vicky MacCrae, The Roslin Institute, The University of Edinburgh
  • Lewis MacKenzie, University of Strathclyde
  • Rogier Mars, University of Oxford
  • Alison Mather, Quadram Institute
  • Carolyn Moores, Birkbeck College, London
  • Daniel Nussey, The University of Edinburgh
  • Matthew Edward Rogers, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
  • Christian Rutz, University of St Andrews
  • Christine Schmidt, The University of Manchester
  • David Seung, John Innes Centre
  • Joe Swift, The University of Manchester
  • Alastair Wilson, University of Exeter
  • Andrew Young, University of Exeter

Committee E members

Mentors include:

  • Tim Brown, The University of Manchester
  • Jane Cleal, University of Southampton
  • Lisa Collins, University of Surrey
  • Susan Critchlow, AstraZeneca
  • Seth Davis, University of York (former member still in mentor pool)
  • Lin Field, Rothamsted Research
  • Denise Fitzgerald, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Anthony Flemming, Syngenta
  • Daniel Gibbs, University of Birmingham
  • Peter Levison, independent (formerly Pall Corporation)
  • Nicolas Locker, The Pirbright Institute
  • Steve Penfield, John Innes Centre
  • Frank Sargent, Newcastle University
  • Mark Smales, University of Kent
  • Nicola Stanley-Wall, University of Dundee
  • Krasimira Tsaneva-Atanasova, University of Exeter
  • Mark Webber, Quadram Institute

Ask a question about the mentoring programme

Darren Pirt

Email: darren.pirt@bbsrc.ukri.org

Last updated: 8 March 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.