Doctoral Training Partnerships


Doctoral Training Partnership (DTP) contacts: 2017 to 2023

Cambridge Social Science DTP
Director: Professor Michelle Ellefson
University of Cambridge
Grand Union DTP
Director: Professor Rebecca Surender
University of Oxford (lead)
The Open University
Brunel University London
London Interdisciplinary Social Science DTP
Director: Professor Pietro Panzarasa
King’s College London (lead)
Queen Mary, University of London
Imperial College London
Director: Professor Bingchun Meng
LSE Doctoral Training Partnership
The London School of Economics and Political Science
Midlands Graduate School DTP
Director: Professor Jon Coaffee
University of Warwick (lead)
University of Nottingham
University of Birmingham
Loughborough University
Aston University
University of Leicester
Northern Ireland and North East DTP
Director: Professor Philip Steinberg
Durham University (lead)
Newcastle University
Queen’s University Belfast
Ulster University
Northumbria University
Teesside University
University of Sunderland
North West Social Science DTP
Director: Professor Gabe Mythen
University of Liverpool (lead)
The University of Manchester
Lancaster University
Keele University
Scottish Graduate School of Social Science DTP
Director: Professor Graeme Nixon
Enquiries: or
University of Edinburgh (lead)
University of St Andrews
University of Dundee
Glasgow Caledonian University
Edinburgh Napier University
Heriot-Watt University
Queen Margaret University Edinburgh
University of Aberdeen
University of Stirling
University of Strathclyde
University of Glasgow
South Coast DTP
Director: Professor Athina Vlachantoni
University of Southampton (lead)
University of Portsmouth
University of Brighton
South East Network for Social Sciences (SeNSS) DTP
Director: Professor Fragkiskos Filippaios
Enquiries: or
University of Essex (lead)
City, University of London
University of East Anglia
Goldsmiths, University of London
University of Kent
University of Reading
University of Roehampton
Royal Holloway, University of London
University of Surrey
University of Sussex
South West DTP
Director: Professor Rich Harris
University of Bristol (lead)
University of Bath
University of Exeter
University of Plymouth
University of the West of England, Bristol
UCL, Bloomsbury and East London DTP
Director: Professor Julie Dockrell
University College London (lead)
SOAS, University of London
Birkbeck, University of London
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
University of East London
Wales DTP
Director: Professor John Harrington
Cardiff University (lead)
Swansea University
Bangor University
Cardiff Metropolitan University
University of Gloucestershire
Aberystwyth University
White Rose Social Sciences DTP
Director: Professor Felicity Matthews
The University of Sheffield (lead)
University of Leeds
University of York
University of Bradford
University of Hull
Manchester Metropolitan University
Sheffield Hallam University

Last updated: 19 February 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.