Neurosciences and Mental Health Board

Board membership from 1 April 2024

  • Professor Marcus Munafo (Chair), University of Bristol
  • Professor Diego Gomez Nicola (Deputy Chair), University of Southampton
  • Dr Michael Ashby, University of Bristol
  • Dr Duncan Astle, MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit
  • Professor Barbara Canlon, Karolinska Institue
  • Professor Jeffrey Dalley, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Neil Harrison, Cardiff University
  • Professor Lora Heisler, Rowett Institute
  • Professor Corinne Houart, King’s College London
  • Dr Clare Howarth, The University of Sheffield
  • Professor Mark Humphries, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Ann John, Swansea University
  • Professor James Kilner University College  London
  • Professor Jonathan Mill, University of Exeter
  • Professor Shane O’Mara, University of Dublin
  • Professor Rickie Patani, The Francis Crick Institute and University College London
  • Professor Anthony Pickering, University of Bristol
  • Dr Nadeem Sarwar, Eisai
  • Dr William Schafer, Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • Professor David Sharp, Imperial College London
  • Professor Tara Spires-Jones, The University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Huiling Tan, University of Oxford
  • Professor Rachel Upthegrove, University of Birmingham

See the Neurosciences and Mental Health Board conflicts of interest register.

Find out more about the units and centres funded by this board.


For general pre-award policy and eligibility enquiries, go to the Research Funding Policy and Delivery team:

For board operation and peer review enquiries, contact:

For enquiries about scientific remit, see our science and contacts page.

Last updated: 9 May 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.