Translational research group

The translational research group (TRG) is responsible for ensuring strong continued support for translational research across MRC. We support translational research across our funding boards and panels, through partnerships with other funders and major higher education institutions and through dedicated funding schemes.

Areas of particular focus for TRG include:

Membership from 1 April 2022

  • Professor Anna Dominiczak (chair), Regis Professor of Medicine, Vice-Principal and
  • Head of College of Medical, Veterinary and Life Sciences, University of Glasgow
  • Professor John Isaacs, Institute of Cellular Medicine Musculoskeletal Research Group, Newcastle University
  • Professor Peter Parker, The Francis Crick Institute
  • Dr Gillian Burgess, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
  • Professor Ian Kimber, Faculty of Life Sciences, The University of Manchester
  • Dr John Shields, Director, JGSbiopharma Ltd
  • Professor Ian Greer, President and Vice Chancellor, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Professor Simon Hollingsworth, Astrazeneca
  • Professor John Girkin, Department of Physics, Durham University
  • Dr Ken Sutherland, Canon Medical Research Europe Ltd
  • Dr Kenji Takada, Microsoft Research Cambridge
  • Professor Jonathan Seckl, The University of Edinburgh
  • Professor Danny McAuley, Queen’s University Belfast

See the translational research group conflicts of interest register.


Dr Suzanne Rix, Programme Manager for Translational Research (TRG Secretariat)


Dr Louise Jones, Head of Translational Research


Last updated: 12 September 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.