NERC Advisory Network



From September 2019, the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) adapted its governance and advisory structures to provide increased agility and broader expertise in light of new opportunities within UK Research and Innovation. The NERC Advisory Network provides a retained, agile and flexible pool of expertise that can be drawn on for strategic or policy advice on specific issues.

The network is made up of up to 60 members with expertise across the breadth of NERC’s remit, and meets in groups when the NERC Executive, Council or Science Committee require advice on specific issues, as well as meeting as a whole once a year. It comprises leading academic and user experts from across academia, business, policy and third sectors providing advice to NERC so that it can respond effectively to new opportunities and arising challenges.


  • Ian Allison
  • Peter Bailey – Environment Agency
  • Professor Grant Bigg – University of Sheffield
  • Fiona Bowles – Wessex Water to Chair the Poole Harbour and the Stour catchment partnerships
  • Professor Andrew Brierley – University of St Andrews
  • Dr Heidi Burdett – Heriot–Watt University
  • Professor Lee Chapman – University of Birmingham
  • Professor Adrian Chappell – Cardiff University
  • Professor Peter Clarke – Newcastle University
  • Professor Matthew Collins – University of Exeter
  • Dr Alexandra Collins – Imperial College London
  • Dr Andrew Davies – Halliburton
  • Dr Emma Ferranti – University of Birmingham
  • Dr Anna Hogg – University of Leeds
  • Dr Robert Holland – Oil Spill Response Ltd
  • Dr David Hutchinson Greentech South Ltd
  • Professor Tom Hutchinson – University of Plymouth
  • Dr Jennifer Lucey – University of Oxford
  • Darren Lumbroso – Water Management Group
  • Dr Andy Moores – Environment Agency
  • Dr Sally Morgan – University of Leicester
  • Dr Siân Rees – Plymouth University
  • Dr Ruben Sakrabani – Cranfield University
  • Professor David Schultz – University of Manchester
  • Professor Marian Scott – Glasgow University
  • Dr Zongbo Shi – University of Birmingham
  • Dr Julia Sigwart – Queens University Belfast
  • Professor David Stainforth – London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Dr Anne Velenturf – University of Leeds
  • Dr Jonathan Wentworth – Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology

We publish a register of declared interests for NAN members. See the conflict of interest register for 2021.


Last updated: 24 May 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.