UK SKA Science Committee (UKSKASC)

The UKSKASC acts as the conduit between the UK-SKA programme and the UK science community, communicating the latest news and project time points, encouraging involvement, and helping to achieve the UK science priorities and objectives from the SKA. This is achieved by regular town meetings with the UK science community and via the SKA representative at each of the UK’s universities. The UKSKASC meets regularly and provides a platform for communication.


  • Chair: Dr David Bacon (University of Portsmouth)
  • Professor Martin Hardcastle (University of Hertfordshire)
  • Dr Danielle Fenech (University of Cambridge)
  • Dr David Eden (Liverpool John Moores University)
  • Professor Philip Best (University of Edinburgh)
  • Dr Pamela Klaassen (UK-ATC)
  • Dr Justin Bray (University of Manchester)
  • Dr Alkistis Pourtsidou (Queen Mary University of London)
  • Dr Stewart Eyres (University of South Wales)
  • Professor Matt Jarvis (University of Oxford)
  • Dr Leah Morabito (Durham University)
  • Dr John Ilee (University of Leeds)
  • Dr Biagio Forte (University of Bath)
  • Dr Lucy Oswald (University of Oxford).

University SKA representatives

  • Bath – Carole Mundell
  • Birmingham – Ian Stevens
  • Bristol – Mark Birkinshaw
  • Cambridge – Mark Ashdown
  • Cardiff – Steve Eales
  • Durham – Alastair Edge
  • Edinburgh – Philip Best
  • Glasgow – Graham Woan
  • Herts – To be confirmed
  • Hull – Kevin Pimbblet
  • Imperial – Jonathan Pritchard
  • Keele – Jacco van Loon
  • Kent – Michael Smith
  • University of Central Lancashire – Stewart Eyres
  • Lancaster – Julie Wardlow
  • Leeds – Melvin Hoare
  • Leicester – Andrew Blain
  • Liverpool John Moores University – Steve Longmore
  • Manchester – Gary Fuller
  • Newcastle – Andrew Fletcher
  • Nottingham – Emma Chapman
  • Open University – Stephen Serjeant
  • Oxford – Rob Fender
  • Portsmouth – David Bacon
  • Queen Mary University of London – Phil Bull
  • Queen’s University Belfast – Rubina Kotak
  • Rutherford Appleton Laboratory – Glenn White
  • St Andrews – Claudia Cyganowski
  • Sheffield – James Mullaney
  • Southampton – Francesco Shankar
  • Sussex – Ilian Iliev
  • University College London (main site) – Izaskun Jimenez-Serra
  • UCL/MSSS – Jason McEwen
  • University of South Wales – Stewart Eyres
  • Warwick – Elizabeth Stanway

We are happy to receive volunteers for contacts at other institutions not yet included on this list. Please contact the UKSKASC chair.

List of useful SKA acronyms.


To receive the latest astronomy updates, sign up to the astro community mailing list  by sending an email to

More sources of news:


David Bacon, UKSKASC Chair


George Madden, Head of SKA Project Office

Telephone: 01793 442075

Simon Haynes, SKA Project Office

Telephone: 01793 442127

Last updated: 23 January 2023

This is the integrated website of the 7 research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.