Check if you are eligible for research and innovation funding


Eligible independent research organisations and Catapult centres

If your organisation is on one of our lists you can apply for funding opportunities.

Eligible independent research organisations

Eligible independent research organisations include:

  • all NHS Trusts, hospitals, boards, primary care trusts and GP practices
  • Anthony Nolan
  • Armagh Observatory
  • BirdLife International
  • British Film Institute
  • British Institute of International and Comparative Law
  • British Library
  • British Museum
  • British Trust for Ornithology
  • Butterfly Conservation
  • CABI (Centre for Agriculture and Bioscience International)
  • Cambridge Arctic Shelf Programme
  • Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre
  • Centre for Sustainable Energy
  • CERN
  • Chatham House (Royal Institute of International Affairs)
  • Earthwatch Institute
  • European Bioinformatics Institute
  • European Marine Energy Centre Ltd
  • European Synchrotron Radiation Facility
  • Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission for England
  • Historic Environment Scotland
  • Historic Royal Palaces
  • HR Wallingford Group
  • Imperial War Museum
  • Institute for Fiscal Studies
  • Institute of Development Studies
  • Institute of Occupational Medicine
  • International Institute for Environment and Development
  • London Institute for Mathematical Sciences
  • Malaria Consortium (UK)
  • Marine Biological Association
  • Moredun Research Institute
  • Museum of London Archaeology
  • National Archives
  • National Centre for Social Research
  • National Foundation for Educational Research
  • National Gallery
  • National Institute of Agricultural Botany
  • National Institute of Economic and Social Research
  • National Maritime Museum
  • National Museum Wales
  • National Museums Liverpool
  • National Museums of Scotland
  • National Oceanography Centre
  • National Portrait Gallery
  • Natural History Museum
  • Nesta
  • Overseas Development Institute
  • RAND Europe Community Interest Company
  • Royal Armouries
  • Royal Botanic Gardens – Edinburgh
  • Royal Botanic Gardens – Kew
  • Royal Society for the Protection of Birds
  • Royal United Services Institute for Defence and Security Studies
  • Satellite Applications Catapult
  • Science Museum Group
  • Sightsavers
  • Tate
  • Tavistock Institute of Human Relations
  • The Aga Khan University (International) in the UK
  • The Design Museum
  • The James Hutton Institute
  • The Manufacturing Technology Centre Ltd
  • The National Trust
  • The Office of the Health Economics
  • The Resolution Foundation
  • The Royal Shakespeare Company
  • The Welding Institute
  • Transport Research Laboratory
  • UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology
  • Unlimit Health
  • Victoria and Albert Museum
  • Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
  • World Conservation Monitoring Centre
  • Young Foundation
  • Zoological Society of London, Institute of Zoology

Eligible Catapult centres

Eligible Catapult centres for UKRI funding are:

  • Cell and Gene Therapy Catapult (Cell Therapy Catapult Limited)
  • Compound Semiconductor Applications Catapult
  • Energy Systems Catapult
  • Manufacturing Technology Centre
  • Medicines Discovery Catapult
  • Offshore Renewable Energy Catapult
  • Satellite Applications Catapult

Last updated: 9 May 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.