Check if you are eligible for research and innovation funding


Eligible research institutes

Research institutes with a long-term investment by the research councils are eligible to apply for funding opportunities.

The eligible research institutes are:

  • Alan Turing Institute
  • Babraham Institute
  • Culham Centre for Fusion Energy (part of UK Atomic Energy Authority)
  • Diamond Light Source
  • Earlham Institute
  • The Faraday Institution
  • The Francis Crick Institute
  • Health Data Research UK
  • Isaac Newton Group
  • John Innes Centre
  • Joint Astronomy Centre
  • MRC Harwell Institute
  • MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
  • MRC Laboratory of Medical Sciences
  • NERC British Antarctic Survey
  • NERC British Geological Survey
  • The Pirbright Institute
  • Plymouth Marine Laboratory
  • Quadram Institute Bioscience
  • Rosalind Franklin Institute
  • Rothamsted Research
  • Scottish Association for Marine Sciences
  • STFC laboratories
  • UK Astronomy Technology Centre
  • UK Dementia Research Institute

Last updated: 27 November 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have some quick feedback or help us improve your experience by taking three minutes to tell us what you think of the UKRI website.