Peer Review College - NERC


Peer Review College chairs

Following the 2008 evaluation of the Peer Review College, NERC recruited a group of Peer Review College chairs who have specific responsibility for leading all of the discovery science assessment and moderating panels. Chairs normally serve for a term of four years.

The current Peer Review College chairs are:

  • Professor William Austin, University of St Andrews
  • Professor Jenni Barclay, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Stuart Bearhop, University of Exeter
  • Professor Gary Bending, The University of Warwick
  • Professor Mark Brandon, Open University
  • Professor Isabella Capellini, Queen’s University, Belfast
  • Professor Sofia Consuegra del Olmo, Swansea University
  • Professor Rob Freckleton, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Daren Gooddy, NERC British Geological Survey
  • Professor Madeleine Humphreys, Durham University
  • Professor Melanie Leng, NERC British Geological Survey
  • Professor Mark Lester, University of Leicester
  • Professor Brice Rea, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Carol Robinson, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Zongbo Shi, University of Birmingham
  • Dr Louise Sime, NERC British Antarctic Survey
  • Professor Paula Stockley, University of Liverpool
  • Professor Seirian Sumner, University College London
  • Professor Jaime Toney, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Nia Whiteley, Bangor University

Last updated: 22 April 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.