UKRI announces two new non-executive directors

Science, Innovation, and Technology Secretary, Michelle Donelan has appointed two new non-executive directors to the UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) Board.

They will work with UKRI Chair, Sir Andrew Mackenzie, to support and challenge UKRI to ensure the organisation achieves its strategic objective and vision.

The appointments are:

  • The Baroness Bull CBE
  • Professor Sir Ian Chapman

UKRI Chair Sir Andrew Mackenzie said:

I warmly welcome The Baroness Bull and Professor Sir Ian Chapman to the Board of UKRI. Their experience and expertise will be invaluable and will further strengthen the board’s important work to help guide UKRI in the coming years.

About The Baroness Bull CBE

A headshot of The Baroness Bull CBE

The Baroness Bull CBE.
Credit: UK Parliament (licence notice)

The Baroness Bull CBE has been a Cross Bench Peer in the House of Lords since 2018, where she serves as a Deputy Speaker and on the EU/UK Parliamentary Partnership Assembly. She danced with The Royal Ballet for 20 years before becoming Creative Director, the Royal Opera House.

Over the decade from 2012, she worked at King’s College London, first as Director, Cultural Partnerships and ultimately as Vice President, Communities and National Engagement. She has written and presented a wide range of work for television and radio, including the award winning The Dancer’s Body, and is the author of four books.

She has served on the boards of South Bank Centre, Arts Council England, the Arts and Humanities Research Council, as a Governor of the BBC and as a judge for the 2010 Booker Prize.

She has received honorary doctorates from Derby University, Sheffield Hallam University, the Open University, Kent University and Lincoln University and was awarded a CBE for her contribution to the arts in 1998.

About Sir Ian Chapman

A headshot of Sir Ian Chapman.

Sir Ian Chapman.
Credit: UK Atomic Energy Authority

Sir Ian Chapman became CEO of the UK Atomic Energy Authority in October 2016.

He has held a number of international roles in fusion, currently including chairing the International Atomic Energy Agency International Fusion Research Committee.

His research has been recognised with a number of international awards, including the:

  • Institute of Physics Paterson Medal in 2013
  • American Physical Society Stix Award in 2017
  • Royal Society Kavli Medal in 2019
  • Institute of Physics Glazebrook Medal for leadership in 2021

He was made a fellow of the Institute of Physics in 2013, became a visiting professor at Durham University in 2015, elected as a fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 2022.

In 2023, he was knighted in the King’s New Year’s Honours, made an honorary fellow of the Nuclear Institute and elected a fellow of the Royal Society.

Top image:  Credit: nuttapong punna, iStock, Getty Images Plus via Getty Images

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.