Doctoral Training Partnerships 2

Through Doctoral Training Partnerships 2 (DTP2), funding for 235 notional studentships was awarded for the 2019-20 academic year. DTP awards were for five annual cohort intakes that started from October 2019.

This funding supports the students’ stipends, fees and research training support grant, and allows for training opportunities to develop the technical skills, professional skills and experience of students at each DTP. Each DTP must ensure, over the five years of student starts, that 25% of their total NERC-funded studentships are CASE (collaborative) studentships.

NERC DTPs award studentships on behalf of NERC and the DTPs themselves should be contacted for all studentship queries. The DTPs oversee the entire process of awarding PhD studentships and award studentships at their own discretion.

Partnerships holding NERC DTP2 funding

Durham University, University of Glasgow, Heriot-Watt University, Newcastle University, University of St Andrews, University of Stirling, British Antarctic Survey (BAS), British Geological Survey (BGS), UK Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (CEH)

Science and Solutions for a Changing Planet DTP
Imperial College London, BGS, CEH, Natural History Museum (NHM), Royal Botanic Gardens Kew, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Zoological Society of London (ZSL)

Lancaster University, Bangor University, University of Nottingham, BGS, CEH, Rothamsted Research

ONE Planet – NERC DTP2
Newcastle University, Northumbria University

London DTP2
University College London, Birkbeck University of London, Brunel University London, Institute of Zoology, King’s College London, NHM, Queen Mary University of London, Royal Holloway University of London

University of Aberdeen, Queens University Belfast

University of Birmingham, University of Leicester, The University of Warwick, The Open University, Loughborough University, Cranfield University, National Centre for Earth Observation (NCEO), BGS, National Centre for Atmospheric Science (NCAS), CEH

University of Bristol, University of Bath, Cardiff University, University of Exeter, BAS, BGS, CEH, Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML), NHM

University of Cambridge, BAS

University of East Anglia, University of Essex, University of Kent, University of Plymouth, Royal Holloway University of London, BAS, BGS, British Trust for Ornithology, CEH, Earlham Institute, Institute of Zoology, ZSL, John Innes Centre, Marine Biological Association (MBA), PML

The University of Edinburgh, BGS, CEH, Scottish Association for Marine Science, Scotland’s Rural College, Scottish Universities Environmental Research Centre, National Museum Scotland

University of Leeds, University of York, University of Hull

University of Liverpool, The University of Sheffield, University of York, CEH, NHM

Doctoral Training Partnership in Environmental Research
University of Oxford

University of Reading, University of Surrey, BGS, CEH, NCAS, NCEO, ZSL

University of St Andrews, University of Aberdeen, Edinburgh Napier University, Heriot-Watt University, University of the Highlands & Islands, Stirling University, Strathclyde University, University of the West of Scotland

University of Southampton, National Oceanography Centre, BAS, NHM, MBA

Last updated: 30 April 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.