Particle physics

Contents

Particle physics events

Particle Physics Masterclass programme

Particle Physics Masterclasses are one-day events hosted by particle physics groups at universities and laboratories across the country. They are aimed at students taking particle physics modules at AS or A level, but are open to any student interested in studying particle physics. Some universities also run days specifically for GCSE students.

The different masterclasses include a selection of the following activities, run by particle physicists:

  • lectures
  • ‘hands-on’ workshops
  • computer sessions
  • laboratory tours
  • live video chats with CERN and international masterclasses.

Every masterclass is slightly different, but all provide excellent support for particle physics in the curriculum and deliver a fascinating insight into this exciting field of physics.

2024 scheduled particle physics masterclasses

Venue: University of Birmingham
Date: 14 March
Contact: Nigel Watson
Email: nigel.watson@cern.ch

Venue: University of Bristol
Date: 27 March
Contact: Particle Physics Group
Email: particle-physics@bristol.ac.uk

Venue: University of Cambridge
Date: 18 and 19 March
Contact: physics administrator
Email: rutherford.hub@phy.cam.ac.uk

Venue: Daresbury Laboratory
Date: 12 March
Contact: Wendy Cotterill
Email: wendy.cotterill@stfc.ac.uk

Venue: Durham University
Date: 22 March
Contact: Francesco Sergio or Jessica Turner
Email: francesco.sergio@durham.ac.uk or jessica.turner@durham.ac.uk

Venue: University of Glasgow
Date: to be confirmed
Contact: Aidan Robson
Email: phas-masterclass@glasgow.ac.uk

Venue: Imperial College London
Date: to be confirmed
Contact: Paula Consiglio or Dion Kordopati
Email: fundamental-physics-admin@imperial.ac.uk

Venue: Lancaster University
Date: to be confirmed
Contact: Helen O’Keeffe
Email: h.okeeffe@lancaster.ac.uk

Venue: The University of Manchester
Date: 18 March
Contact: Darren Price
Email: darren.price@manchester.ac.uk

Venue: University of Nottingham
Date: to be confirmed
Contact: Anastasios Avgoustidis
Email: anastasios.avgoustidis@nottingham.ac.uk

Venue: University of Oxford
Date: 15 and 18 March
Contact: Samuel Henry
Email: samuel.henry@physics.ox.ac.uk

Venue: University of Plymouth
Date: 26 March
Contact: Vincent Drach
Email: vincent.drach@plymouth.ac.uk

Venue: Queen Mary University of London
Date: 7 March
Contact: School Outreach
Email: spcs-outreach@qmul.ac.uk

Venue: Rutherford Appleton Laboratory (RAL)
Date: 12, 13 and 14 March
Contact: Visit RAL
Email: visitral@stfc.ac.uk

Venue: Royal Holloway University of London
Date: 25 April
Contact: Claire Porter
Email: claire.porter@rhul.ac.uk

Venue: The University of Sheffield
Date: 15 March
Contact: Kristin Lohwasser
Email: kristin.lohwasser@cern.ch

Venue: University of Southampton
Date: 26 March
Contact: Nick Evans
Email: evans@phys.soton.ac.uk

Venue: University of Sussex
Date: to be confirmed
Contact: Darren Baskill
Email: d.baskill@sussex.ac.uk

Venue: Swansea University
Date: to be confirmed
Contact: Prem Kumar
Email: s.p.kumar@swansea.ac.uk

Venue: University College London
Date: 26 March
Contact: Mark Fuller
Email: mark.fuller@ucl.ac.uk

Venue: The University of Warwick
Date: 18 March
Contact: Michal Kreps
Email: m.kreps@warwick.ac.uk

Many of the Particle Physics Masterclasses are oversubscribed. Teachers who would like their students to participate should contact the appropriate person as soon as possible.

Outreach talks

UK nuclear physicists give outreach talks that are aimed at a wide variety of audiences including students, teachers, astronomical and other societies, and the public.

Find out what your nearest particle physics group is doing or invite a speaker to your school.

Last updated: 30 January 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have some quick feedback or help us improve your experience by taking three minutes to tell us what you think of the UKRI website.