RIDE Forum


Contact details and governance

The RIDE Forum secretariat manages day-to-day activities. It is hosted by the Natural Environment Research Council (NERC) in Swindon.

Penny Gordon, senior programme manager

Email: penny.gordon@nerc.ukri.org


The forum is overseen by a senior group of representatives from each of the 24 member organisations.

The group meets twice a year. It oversees all the forum’s activities, from strategic planning to delivery and monitoring the impact of outputs.

The group members are:

  • Arts and Humanities Research Council, Lucy Hackett
  • Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council, Harriet Trewin
  • Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs (Northern Ireland), Alistair Carson
  • Department for Energy, Security and Net Zero, Savio Moniz
  • Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, Justine Bejta
  • Department for Transport, Annette Joseph
  • Economic and Social Research Council, Susie Stevenson
  • Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, Mark Tarplee
  • Environment Agency, Glenn Watts
  • Forest Research, representative to be confirmed
  • Innovate UK, Nick Cliffe
  • Joint Nature Conservation Committee, Dave Stone
  • Medical Research Council, Graham Campbell
  • Met Office, Melissa Welsh
  • Natural England, Cheryl Willis
  • Natural Environment Research Council, Sarah Webb
  • Natural Resources Wales, Steve King
  • Nature Scot, Alex Mackay
  • Northern Ireland Environment Agency, Sara McGuckin
  • Office for National Statistics, representative to be confirmed
  • Science and Technology Facilities Council, Matt Chisholm
  • Scottish Environment Protection Agency, Peter Singleton (Chair)
  • Scottish Government, Sallie Bailey
  • Welsh Government, Simon Baldwin

Last updated: 8 March 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.