Advisory Board

The Arts and Humanities Research Council’s (AHRC) Advisory Board provides AHRC expert support and advice.

The board’s advice reflects the arts and humanities research communities’ perspectives on the needs and challenges facing arts and humanities research, innovation and practice.

The board supports the development of strategic partnerships that facilitate opportunities for the delivery of AHRC’s vision and its role in the wider context of UK Research and Innovation.

The board is chaired by a member of the AHRC Council, and its membership is made up of academics and representatives from non-higher education institution research communities.


  • Professor Adrienne Scullion is Faculty Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences, Queen’s University, Belfast
  • Professor Helen Abbott is Professor of Modern Languages and Head of School of Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Dana Arnold is Professor of Art History, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Diamond Ashiagbor is Professor of Law and Director of Postgraduate Research, University of Kent
  • Christopher Baker is Director European and Scottish Art and Portraiture, National Galleries of Scotland
  • Professor Kirsti Bohata is Professor of English Literature, Swansea University
  • Dr Gavin Brookes is Senior Research Fellow in Corpus Linguistics, Lancaster University
  • Jane Ellison is an Independent Consultant, Broadcasting & Media
  • Professor Martyn Evans is Pro Vice Chancellor Arts & Humanities, Director of Manchester of Art, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Professor Paul Grainge is Professor of Film and Television Studies and Academic Director for Digital Nottingham, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Genevieve Liveley is Professor of Classics, RISCS Fellow, and Turing Fellow University of Bristol
  • Professor Sandeep Parmar is a poet and Professor of English, University of Liverpool
  • Heather Stewart is Director Emeritus, British Film Institute
  • Professor Stuart Taberner is Dean for Interdisciplinary Research and Professor of Contemporary German Literature, Thought and Society, University of Leeds



Last updated: 21 December 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.