BBSRC Executive

Interim Executive Chair

Our Interim Executive Chair is Professor Guy Poppy.

Find out more about Professor Guy Poppy.

The Executive Chair is supported and advised by:

  • BBSRC Executive Leadership Team (ELT) responsible for strategic leadership of BBSRC, its day to-day operations and managing its delegated budget to achieve the outcomes defined in the BBSRC Strategic Delivery Plan and by UKRI. ELT meets fortnightly and comprises of the Executive Chair, Deputy Executive Chair, Chief Operating Officer (COO), Finance Director and three Executive Directors
  • Office Management Group – chaired by the COO, deals with operation of the BBSRC Office and reports to the ELT.

Executive structure

Dr Amanda Collis, Interim Deputy Executive Chair

Dr Jef Grainger, Interim Executive Director, Research Strategy and Programmes

Dr Karen Lewis, Executive Director, Capability and Innovation

Dr Sarah Perkins, Executive Director, Strategic Planning, Evidence and Engagement

Bill Poll, Chief Operating Officer

Zahir Sachak, BBSRC Finance Director

Last updated: 14 December 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.