Strategic advisory network

The strategic advisory network (SAN) is comprised of leading experts from the academic and user communities. It helps ESRC exploit opportunities and access the voice and expertise of its communities. The SAN provides:

  • detailed expert support and advice including on the design of strategies and schemes, investment management, pre- and post-award, and interventions
  • a broad perspective of advice on issues, proposals and decisions, including feedback on views within our various stakeholder groups
  • access to a pool of academic and user experts to whom the office can turn to for ad-hoc advice and advocacy and to test out new ideas
  • provision of input into general policy advice

SAN membership

The network was established in April 2018 and is comprised of a range of leading academic and user experts from across the social sciences with membership refreshed regularly.

Read the ESRC code of practice for committee and group members.

See the strategic advisory network terms of reference.

SAN members


Member Current term ends
Professor Tim Vorley – Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean, Oxford Brookes Business School 31 March 2026
Dr Lígia Teixeira – Chief Executive, Centre for Homelessness Impact 31 March 2026
David Shallcross – Impact and Evidence Manager at The Connection, St Martin’s 31 March 2026
Dr Sharifah Sekalala – Reader and Associate Professor in Global Health Law, University of Warwick 31 March 2025
Professor Alison Pilnick – Professor of Language, Medicine and Society in the School of Sociology and Social Policy, University of Nottingham 31 March 2026
Professor Martyn Pickersgill – Personal Chair of the Sociology of Science and Medicine, The University of Edinburgh 31 March 2026
Dr Gina Netto – Reader and Associate Professor in International and Forced Migration, The Urban Institute in Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh 31 March 2025
Professor Gina Neff – Professor of Technology & Society, University of Cambridge 31 March 2025
Amy Mount – Senior Associate, European Climate Foundation 31 March 2026
Dr Dawn Knight – Reader in Applied Linguistics, Cardiff University 31 March 2026
Dr Carrie Heitmeyer – Government Office for Science 31 March 2026
Professor Geoff Haddock – Professor of Social Psychology, Cardiff University 31 March 2025
Professor Nigel Gilbert – Director of the Centre for the Evaluation of Complexity Across the Nexus 31 March 2025
Jayanthi Ezekiel – Policy professional and economist 31 March 2026
Lynn Emslie – Non-Executive Director, Chair, Special Advisor and Trustee 31 March 2025
Dr Jane Ellis-Brush – Senior Lecturer in Supply Chain Management, University of Bath’s School of Management 31 March 2025
Professor Lee Elliot Major – Professor of Social Mobility, University of Exeter 31 March 2026
Kezia Dugdale – Director of the John Smith Centre and a Senior Lecturer in social policy, University of Glasgow 31 March 2025
Professor Patrick Diamond – Associate Professor of Public Policy, Queen Mary, University of London, and Director of the Mile End Institute 31 March 2025
Professor Pamela Davis-Kean – Professor of Psychology and Associate Director of the Michigan Institute for Data Science, University of Michigan, US 31 March 2026
Professor Andrea Cornwall – Pro-Director Research & Enterprise, SOAS, University of London 31 March 2025


Professor Jon Coaffee – Professor of Urban Geography in the Department of Politics and International Studies, University of Warwick 31 March 2026
Dr Iwona Bisaga – Research Associate on the Modern Energy Cooking Services Programme, Loughborough University 31 March 2026

Last updated: 8 March 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.