Advisory Panel for Public Engagement

The Advisory Panel for Public Engagement provides advice to the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) Council and Executive Board on strategy, policies and programme balance for public engagement with STFC’s science and technology, and provides new ideas for programme development. The work of the panel covers the full STFC public engagement programme, delivered between STFC’s national laboratories and the council’s head office in Swindon.

Members of the Advisory Panel for Public Engagement demonstrate expertise in the strategy, planning, delivery and evaluation of a range of public engagement programmes. The panel draws from all disciplinary backgrounds, with members understanding the UK landscape of public engagement with science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).


  • Dr June McCombie, University of Nottingham (chair)
  • Dr Helen Bridle, Heriot-Watt University
  • Ben Johnson, Graphic Science
  • Shaaron Leverment, Association for Science and Discovery Centres
  • Professor Chris Lintott, University of Oxford
  • Peter Marshman, National Centre for Computing Education
  • Dr Krishna Mooroogen, independent member
  • Dr Charlotte Thorley, independent engagement consultant
  • Dr Philippos Papadakis, Early Career Research PEER forum chair
  • Dr Alison Boyle, Science Foundation Ireland
  • Dr Ann Grand, The Open University
  • Professor Andrew Newsam, Liverpool John Moores University
  • Dr Jen Gupta, University of Portsmouth
  • Dr Jamie Gallagher, independent trainer and consultant

Terms of Reference

Read the Advisory Panel for Public Engagement terms of reference.

Last updated: 21 December 2022

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback.