Nuclear Physics Grants Panel

The Nuclear Physics Grants Panel’s role is to:

  • assess and make recommendations to the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) Executive for research awards in nuclear physics
  • take account, as appropriate, of any strategic advice provided by STFC
  • provide clear concise feedback to applicants
  • advise the Science Board and Executive as required on all issues relating to research grants, including monitoring the level of funding allocated to grants per round
  • liaise with other bodies as necessary
  • carry out such other tasks associated with peer review as the Executive might require
  • take account, as appropriate, of the recommendations of external reviewers and the conclusion of specialist peer review panels. These may be convened by the Executive
  • advise on consolidated grants, contiguous groups of research requests, or research requests which are judged (on the basis of cost or propriety) to warrant such separate, in-depth assessment.

Organisational structure


  • Professor Kieran Flanagan (Chair), The University of Manchester
  • Dr Nara Singh Bondili, University of the West of Scotland
  • Professor Jens Jorgen Gaardhoje, University of Copenhagen
  • Dr Liam Gaffney, University of Liverpool
  • Dr David Hamilton, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Morten Hjorth-Jenson, Michigan State University US, University of Oslo, Norway
  • Dr Marc Labiche, Daresbury Laboratory
  • Professor Alison Laird, University of York
  • Dr Judith McGovern, The University of Manchester
  • Professor Zsolt Podolyak, University of Surrey
  • Professor Dan Watts, University of York

Last updated: 11 September 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have some quick feedback or help us improve your experience by taking three minutes to tell us what you think of the UKRI website.