Particle Physics Grants Panel

The Particle Physics Grants Panel (PPGP) is responsible for assessing and making recommendations to the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) Executive on research grant applications in particle physics covering scientific exploitation of facilities and projects, ‘blue skies’ technology research, theory, modelling, data handling and high-performance computing (HPC) access.

Organisational structure


  • Professor Helen O’Keeffe, Lancaster University (Experiment)
  • Professor Nick Evans, University of Southampton (Theory)

Core members

  • Professor Richard Ball, The University of Edinburgh (Theory)
  • Professor Ryan Nichol, University College London (Experiment)

Non-core members

  • Professor Gert Aarts, Swansea University (Theory)
  • Professor Daniela Bortoletto, University of Oxford (Experiment)
  • Dr Joanne Cole, Brunel University (Experiment)
  • Professor Christoph Englert, University of Glasgow (Theory)
  • Professor Malcolm Fairbairn, King’s College London (Theory)
  • Dr Evgueni Goudzovski, University of Birmingham (Experiment)
  • Dr Asher Kaboth, Royal Holloway (Experiment)
  • Dr Daniel Maitre, IPPP (Theory)
  • Dr Susha Parameswaran, University of Liverpool (Theory)
  • Dr Mitesh Patel, Imperial College London (Experiment)
  • Professor Darren Price, The University of Manchester (Experiment)
  • Professor Jonas Rademacker, University of Bristol (Experiment)
  • Professor Claudia de Rham, Imperial College London (Theory)
  • Professor Sakura Schafer-Nameki, University of Oxford (Theory)
  • Professor Gabriele Travaglini, Queen Mary University London (Theory)
  • Professor Joost Vossebeld, University of Liverpool (Experiment)

Terms of reference

The panel’s role is to:

  • assess and make recommendations to the STFC Executive for research awards in particle physics
  • take account, as appropriate, of any strategic advice provided by STFC
  • provide clear, concise feedback to applicants
  • advise the Science Board and Executive as required on all issues relating to research grants, including monitoring the level of funding allocated to grants per round
  • liaise with other bodies as necessary
  • carry out such other tasks associated with peer review as the Executive might require
  • take account, as appropriate, of the recommendations of external reviewers and the conclusion of specialist peer review panels, as convened by the executive to advise on consolidated grants, contiguous groups of research requests, or research requests which are judged (on the basis of cost or propriety) to warrant such separate in-depth assessment.


STFC invites nominations to join its panels and committees on an annual basis. If you are interested in joining the PPGP, contact:

Sarah Verth

Last updated: 12 September 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback.