UK SKA Observatory Science Committee (UKSKAOSC)

The UKSKAOSC acts as the conduit between the UK-SKA programme and the UK science community, communicating the latest news and project time points, encouraging involvement, and helping to achieve the UK science priorities and objectives from the SKA. This is achieved by regular town meetings with the UK science community and via the SKA representative at each of the UK’s universities. The UKSKAOSC meets regularly and provides a platform for communication.


Members (as at 24 May 2024):

  • Chair: Dr Leah Morabito, Durham University
  • Dr Phil Bull, The University of Manchester
  • Dr Robert Ferdman, University of East Anglia
  • Professor Anastasia Fialkov, University of Cambridge
  • Dr Robert Harrison, University of Cardiff
  • Professor Ilian Iliev, University of Sussex
  • Professor Matt Jarvis, University of Oxford
  • Dr Katharine Johnston,  University of Leeds
  • Professor Eduard Kontar, University of Glasgow
  • Dr Natasha Maddox, University of Bristol
  • Dr James McKee University of Hull
  • Professor Alberto Vecchio, University of Birmingham


  • Dr Hilary Kay, The University of Manchester

Early career researcher group representative

  • Dr Lucy Oswald, University of Oxford


  • Professor Philip Best, The University of Edinburgh
  • Dr David Bacon, University of Portsmouth

List of useful SKA acronyms.


To receive the latest astronomy updates, sign up to the astro community mailing list  by sending an email to

More sources of news:


Leah Morabito, UKSKAOSC Chair


George Madden, Head of SKA Project Office

Telephone: 01793 442075

Simon Haynes, SKA Project Office

Telephone: 01793 442127

Last updated: 24 May 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.