BBSRC Executive

The Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) Executive is based in Swindon, Wiltshire. It is led by the Executive Chair to whom day-to-day responsibility is delegated from the Council.

Executive Chair

Our Executive Chair is Professor Melanie Welham.

Find out more about Professor Melanie Welham.

The Executive Chair is supported and advised by:

  • Executive Leadership Team (ELT) – meets fortnightly to discuss operational issues (chair – Executive Chair) and is responsible for taking forward actions on all matters emanating from Council and its boards. It also ensures that relevant business is laid before Council in a timely manner and reviews business associated with the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and UK Research and Innovation. Executive Group comprises the Executive Chair, the Chief Operating Officer (COO) and Executive Directors
  • Office Management Group – chaired by the COO, deals with operation of the BBSRC Office and reports to the ELT.

Executive structure

Executive Director, Research Strategy and Programmes, Dr Amanda Collis

Executive Director, Capability and Innovation, Dr Karen Lewis

Executive Director, Strategic Planning, Evidence and Engagement, Dr Sarah Perkins

Chief Operating Officer, Bill Poll

Last updated: 15 August 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.