How Innovate UK is governed

Our work is overseen by a council, which sets overall objectives and direction. The Council meets six times a year.

Innovate UK Council

Council members

Members have a range of expertise in research and innovation that is drawn across business, entrepreneurship, investment, technology, economics and business impact evaluation. They also have different characteristics and professional backgrounds.

See all members of Innovate UK council

Innovate UK council members: declaration of interests

Council meeting minutes

Review all meeting minutes from 2022

Review all meeting minutes from 2021

Meetings from before this date are available on the UK Government Web Archive

More information


Innovate UK senior leadership team

Our senior leadership team leads the organisation’s multifaceted teams to deliver our objectives within the government’s innovation strategy.

Senior leadership team members

The members are:

  • Indro Mukerjee – Chief Executive Officer
  • Rob Shaw – Chief of Staff
  • Lisa Hazelden – Chief Product Officer
  • Mike Biddle – Executive Director, Net Zero
  • Guy Woolley – Chief Operating Officer
  • Stella Peace – Executive Director, Healthy Living and Agriculture
  • Neil Phimister – Director of Finance
  • Dean Cook – Director, Place and Levelling-Up
  • Dave Wilkes – Director, Innovation Ecosystem

Innovate UK senior leadership team: declaration of interests

Last updated: 23 April 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.