Industrial clusters


Harwell Clusters

Harwell Space Cluster

Harwell Space Cluster is the gateway to the UK space sector with 89 space organisations employing 950 people.

Global space companies have established a presence at Harwell, such as:

  • Airbus Defence and Space
  • Lockheed Martin
  • Thales Alenia Space

Activities range from the design of propulsion subsystems to satellite navigation systems.

These are joined by a range of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) from start-ups in the European Space Agency Business Incubation Centre to rapidly growing companies such as:

  • Oxford Space Systems
  • Deimos Space UK
  • Rezatec
  • Neptec.

Find out more about Harwell Space Cluster

Health Tech Cluster Harwell

Harwell’s Health Tech Cluster is a global force, with over 1,400 people and 74 organisations working in life sciences and world leading capabilities in:

  • advanced therapies
  • vaccines
  • diagnostics
  • next generation imaging.

As one of the seven Life Science Opportunity Zones designated by the UK government the cluster draws on the campus’ diverse expertise and open access national laboratories to deliver world firsts and life-changing innovations.

As well as being central to the global COVID-19 effort, Harwell is also pioneering nucleic acid therapies and aims to provide new insights into disease and drug discovery at both a molecular and atomic level.

Read more about the Health Tech Cluster on the Harwell campus website

Energy Tech Cluster Harwell

The Harwell Energy Tech Cluster comprises 80 organisations employing more than 1,400 people on campus and directly links to a wider network of over 100 organisations across the UK. It connects the science and innovation assets at Harwell to industries spanning energy research, innovation and development.

The cluster members work closely with the UK government and regulators on the design and implementation of policies, informing consultations and providing strategic advice to diverse stakeholders on areas such as:

  • innovative renewables
  • zero carbon energy storage
  • zero carbon fuels
  • battery research
  • connected and autonomous travel solutions
  • digital transformation.

Read more about the Energy Tech Cluster on the Harwell campus website

Last updated: 1 December 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.