Research Committees


Research Committee E

Responsible for the award of fellowships and other personal awards and providing key mentoring support to Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) fellows. Members are expected to be well respected within their field and to have demonstrable interest in supporting career development.

Research Committee E will:

  • undertake the peer review of fellowships and other personal awards, and applications for other people movement schemes according to BBSRC processes and best practice, and to provide recommendations for awards to BBSRC Executive
  • provide mentoring, support and regular feedback to fellows through face-to-face visits and meetings, through the annual progress update system and attendance at fellows’ induction events and the annual fellows’ conference organised by BBSRC
  • provide input to BBSRC and its strategy advisory panels and sub-groups on the recommendations it makes on the award of fellowships and other personal awards

Research Committee E will also be represented on:

  • Research Advisory Panel through the chair of the committee
  • cross-council fellowships panels
  • training grant assessment panels

The committee meets twice a year:

  • May or June: fellowship annual progress updates
  • October or November: fellowship scheme interview shortlisting

Additionally, fellowship interviews involving members take place once a year:

  • December: fellowship scheme interviews


The membership for 2024 is as follows:

  • Professor Roslyn Bill (Chair), Aston University
  • Professor Frank Sargent (Deputy Chair), Newcastle University
  • Professor Tim Brown, The University of Manchester
  • Dr Jane Cleal, University of Southampton
  • Professor Lisa Collins, University of Surrey
  • Dr Susan Critchlow, AstraZeneca
  • Professor Lin Field, Rothamsted Research
  • Professor Denise Fitzgerald, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Dr Anthony Flemming, Syngenta
  • Professor Daniel Gibbs, University of Birmingham
  • Dr Peter Levison, independent
  • Professor Nicolas Locker, The Pirbright Institute
  • Professor Steven Penfield, John Innes Centre
  • Professor Mark Smales, University of Kent
  • Professor Nicola Stanley-Wall, University of Dundee
  • Professor Krasimira Tsaneva-Atanasova, University of Exeter
  • Dr Mark Webber, Quadram Institute

Meeting dates


  • 12 June
  • 5 November
  • 2 to 4 December (fellowship interviews)


  • 13 June
  • 8 November
  • 5 to 7 December (fellowship interviews)


Avril Ferris


Last updated: 6 February 2024

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help improve our online products and services.